A Poem for Olivia – Jan. 29, 2014

Published on: Author: bette Leave a comment

I wrote this poem the day after my daughter called to tell us that she was pregnant.  On January 28, 2014 and we were in our RV at Lake Cahuilla in La Quinta, California.  The news came as a shock for many reasons, and I’m afraid that my tone on the phone was not one of delight.  I think Shannon understood and gave me the time I needed to adjust to the unexpected situation.

 

I don’t consider myself a poet, but the attached story explains why I wrote this one.  I have revised the poem twice.  The first time was when Shannon and Jeff decided to name their daughter Olivia.   The second revision was made a couple of weeks after Olivia was born when I realized that the hope I had felt the morning I wrote it had turned to pure joy.

 

CLICK HERE:

For Olivia (Story and Poem)

For Olivia

Comments on For Olivia

EMOTIONAL LADDER

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *