Parenting on Purpose – March 1998

Published on: Author: bette Leave a comment

I wrote this piece during Spring Break in 1998 just after meeting my first nephew, Tanner.  Tanner was 6 months old.  Less than a month ago, on May 27, 2016, I got to watch Tanner giving the Salutatorian address at Oakmont High School in Roseville, CA.  He’s off to Cal Tech in the fall … and who knows after that?

The last time I was at a service in the Quad at Oakmont High was in 1993 at the Celebration of Life for Tanner’s mom, Ginger.  It was a pretty amazing experience for me to watch Tanner speaking from the very same podium where Larry Leatherman spoke about the sort of person and mother that Ginger had been.  I know that she was there in spirit, loving every minute of it …

 

Parenting on Purpose – Tanner Moore

Notes on the Moore Family

 

TANNER’S SPEECH (5 minutes)

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *