Resolutions in Retrospect

Published on: Author: bette 3 Comments

It’s New Year’s Day 2015, and if I made any resolutions a year ago I’m sure I didn’t keep them.  That’s not surprising because I realized a long time ago that it works best for me to write my resolutions at the end of the year instead of at the beginning. If I had made a New Year’s Resolution on Jan. 1, 2014  I’m sure it would have had something to do with writing.  I probably would have said that I would focus on one thing at a time and stop “meandering” so much.

Looking back, however, I realize that’s just not going to happen. In fact, as I look back over 2014 I realize that my “resolution in retrospect” would be that I would ease up on myself.  I wrote in an earlier post that I write because it’s fun – and that’s what I’m going to continue doing in 2015 … and just enjoy where it takes me.

That said … I had a lot of fun this past week putting together an illustrated New Year’s letter.  I want to post it now because for the first time since I’ve been doing this I’ve actually finished it on New Year’s Day!

CLICK HERE:   2015 Letter

3 Responses to Resolutions in Retrospect Comments (RSS) Comments (RSS)

  1. I am on my phone.I clicked on it and the download message came but then it gave me a choice and the middle one was the PDF file and I can choose always or just once and so I clicked just once and then it opened it but I don’t know if its on the phone you know if it downloaded it anywhere. I don’t know if you can do that on the phone. … sorry so I will also try on my computer but at least it opened right away. good luck!

  2. Thank you so much for the reply, Nancy. It’s feedback like this that inspires me to keep going. If there’s one resolution I really do want to make for 2015 it is that I will find the joy in doing what I can and let go of the need for something to be “perfect” before feeling that it is complete.

    A quote comes to mind although I can’t remember who it’s from:
    “Anything worth doing is worth doing badly” … so expect some mistakes in these posts! And again THANKS for the feedback! I love the idea of “meandering toward the divine spark every day”!

  3. Nice newsletter! 🙂 I am gonna work on getting my pictures added and see how mine goes…it was supposed to be a Christmas letter but will now be a new year one!
    Gorgeous pics of the lake,sunset and Shannon at the top! and I love the baby pics…you are right about being gentle with yourself…we need to step back and see the good in ourselves and reach for that divine spark…but it is so easy to forget/deny it…the best way is to meander peacefully toward it each day! Happy New Year…we have had 2 weeks of sun and actually saw color on the ocean for a sunset(not the sun just orange afterglow) and whale spouts this week from our window!!! Peace! Looking forward to seeing you…taking Randy and Cian back to Livermore on Sunday and will return to Brookings on Th or Fri…!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *