A Blog on Blogging

Published on: Author: bette 5 Comments

The nice thing about a blog is that it is never set in concrete.   It’s not like writing a novel, or a story, or a poem, or even a self-help book that has a beginning, a middle, and an end.  Maybe it’s a bit more like writing a soap opera . . . a story that continues to unfold and even the writer doesn’t really know where it’s going to end up!

 

Since the last time I posted on Meanderings I’ve upgraded my Edublogs account and I now have five blogs. I’ve begun to think about the blogs that I’ve started as “filing cabinets” . . .  places where I can store bits and pieces of  writing until such time that I have a better idea about where a particular idea is going to end up.     These filing cabinets can be as public or as private as I choose.   Even though this particular blog is public . . .  so few people know it’s here that it feels private.  And, of course, there’s always the Edit and Delete buttons :-)!

 

It has occurred to me that what I like most about writing is the process itself.   The product, for me, seems secondary.  And I’m not sure at all about how I feel about publishing.   I know it’s not about money for me anymore because I know so many people who have published books and have never made a dime.  But there’s more to it than that.  It’s about completion.

 

I once heard of the writers of a very successful soap opera being interviewed.  When she was asked what she saw herself doing in the future, she said that she loved her job and had no complaints.  But then she added somewhat wistfully  ” . . . but someday I would love to write something with a beginning, a middle, and an end.

 

So maybe that’s what these blogs are about.  Someday I would love to publish all five of the books that have been “writing themselves” in my mind for over 30 years now.  But until that happens, it feels very good to finish a single blog post and be done.

5 Responses to A Blog on Blogging Comments (RSS) Comments (RSS)

  1. Thanks, Karin! I love it that you can be part of the group even though our meeting time doesn’t work for you. Since I’m not going to be in Brookings until the spring, the Artists in Community blog is a way I can stay connected.

    I’m not sure if you’re subscribed to that one or not. It’s http://www.artistcommunity.edublogs.org. I’ll check and send you an invitation if you’re not. You’ll notice that there’s a CATEGORY for everyone in the group who has sent me writing to post. If you have something I can post there I’d love for you to send it!

  2. Writing connects me to my soul, which I view as that recessed part of my awareness. I absolutely believe “pen to paper” especially with a real pen activated by the tactile responses informed by brain circuitry is the way into my soul. Typing on a keypad is not even the same. I trust it more than any other medium I have tried because I have looked back and been truly unfamiliar with past notations “where did that come from?” Trusting that process is wonderful, solid, true. So going into writing as if I have one thought or destination, and coming out with something different, like a stream that found a different way to the larger body of water. What a thrill! The topper to this would be collaborating with other writers. Maybe that lies ahead as well.
    Bette, your blogging is really-truly- so- cool. I love the way you get me thinking.

  3. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about WHY I want to write. I’ve come up with three reasons . . . that I need to expand into another post when I get time. What I realized is that none of them have anything to do with actually being published or making any money . . . except in the sense that would somehow validate all three. Any thoughts about WHY you want to write . . . before I write it???

  4. I love the organizational vision this creates for me. Yes, it is about process and yes… I yearn for a beginning-middle-end, which, without a doubt for this new “writer”, is off in the future… hopefully not too distant.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *